Press Release

Affordable Connectivity Program Extension Act Adds Brown and Marshall as New Cosponsors, Growing Support to Extend the ACP

Apr 10, 2024

WASHINGTON, D.C.U.S. Senator Peter Welch (D-Vt.) announced two new cosponsors today to the bipartisan Affordable Connectivity Program Extension Act: U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) and Roger Marshall (R-Kan.).  

The bipartisan lawmakers join Senators Welch, JD Vance (R-Ohio), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), and Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.) in the Senate, and lead cosponsors Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY-09) and Representative Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-01) in the House of Representatives. Representatives Clarke and Fitzpatrick were joined by original co-sponsors Reps. Michael Lawler (R-NY-17), Norma Torres (D-CA-35), Anthony D’Esposito (R-NY-04), Debbie Dingell (D-MI-6), Darren Soto (D-FL-9), and Marc Molinaro (R-NY-19).    

The bipartisan Affordable Connectivity Program Extension Act would provide $7 billion for the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP), which provides affordable high-speed internet options to qualifying households across the United States. Since its implementation, 23.2 million households have utilized the program’s monthly discount of up to $30 for internet service, and up to $75 monthly for those living on Tribal lands – including 1,157,054 Ohio households and 133,746 Kansas households.  

“Our fight to protect and extend the Affordable Connectivity Program is growing, and we’re gaining bipartisan support to keep folks connected to the affordable, high-speed internet they need in today’s digital world,” said Senator Welch. “Coming together to help families, seniors and veterans across Vermont, Ohio, Kansas —and beyond—is something we can all agree on. I’m glad Senators Brown and Marshall are joining me and Senators Vance, Rosen, and Cramer as we work to keep America’s families from falling into digital darkness. I’m excited to welcome them both as co-sponsors of the Affordable Connectivity Program Extension Act.”   

“Every Ohio family and Ohio business deserves affordable high-speed internet,” said Senator Brown. “The Affordable Connectivity Program lowers the cost of high speed internet for one in four Ohio households – from Steubenville to Sandusky. This is just common sense – and we need to act immediately to extend it.” 

“Since coming to Congress, one of my top priorities has been ensuring that underserved communities have access to high-speed broadband internet, no matter where, or who, they are. In today’s age, access to the internet is vital to Americans receiving education, health care, and remote services that may otherwise be physically inaccessible,” said Senator Marshall. “The ACP serves millions of vulnerable households, including over 133,000 Kansans, and I am proud to cosponsor this legislation with my colleagues in the Senate to make sure that American families have the tools to succeed in today’s digital age.” 

The Affordable Connectivity Program Extension Act is supported by over 400 organizations, including: AARP, American Civil Liberties Union, AT&T, Charter, Comcast, Communications Workers of America, Cox Communications, CTIA – The Wireless Association, INCOMPAS, NAACP, NCTA – The Internet & Television Association, NTCA – The Rural Broadband Association, T-Mobile, USTelecom, Verizon, Wireless Infrastructure Association, and WTA – Advocates for Rural Broadband.   

Read more about the bill here and see state-by-state data on the ACP here.